Happy Vibe Yoga
   Home      Yamas ans Niyamas
 Yogic principals : Yamas and Niyamas
These simple reminders keep us staying on a path of mindfulness and loving kindness.

The Yamas

Since Yama comes from the root word ‘yam’ ‘to hold’ or ‘to rule’, yama yoga represents the behaviors that ‘control’ certain negative tendencies (the ‘animal/instinctive nature’) that occur in all human beings. These are the five ideals of:

  • Ahimsa (non-violence) say : uh him suh
  • Satya (truth) say : sut yuh
  • Asteya (non-stealing, or non-cheating) say : uh stay uh
  • Brahmacharya (continence, involving self-restraint and moderation in all you do) say : bruh muh chari yuh
  • Aparigraha (non-coveting, including no envy, jealousy or unhealthy competitiveness).say :uh puh rig ruh huh

The Niyamas

The niyamas are the general actions that are necessary if we truly want to achieve a condition of health and deep balance within ourselves. The niyamas ask us to aim for:

  • Purity (Sauca) say : sow ( like cow) chuh
  • Contentment (Santosha) say : Sun toe shuh - this is where Santokh's name came from!
  • Ardour (Ishawar-Pranidhana) say : ihsh wahr prani hahnuh
  • Discipline (Tapas) say : tup puz
  • And study of the Self (Svadhyaya) say : svud yie ( like pie) yuh